For brands using LiveEngage, there are currently two conversation types:

  • Live chat: A single exchange of a live conversation between consumer and agent. Live chats have a clear start and end to a conversation and once a live chat ends, it will not continue. Consumers have the option to start a new live chat with a new agent.

  • Messaging: Continuous, ongoing conversations that can be answered asynchronously. Both the consumer and the agent can resume the conversation after it has ended.

Note: LivePerson’s best practice and recommendation is to offer messaging only. We believe messaging is the best solution for both brands and consumers - this belief is reflected in our investment of new tools for messaging.

When referring to blended accounts, or brands that elect to offer both live chat and messaging, agents may work in three modes:

  • Dedicated agents - Completely separate agents for messaging and for live chat, sharing the same account. Each agent has an individual login.

  • Dedicated agents per shift/time period - Agents that are capable of handling both live chats and messaging, but focus only on one channel per shift/dedicated time period ( not handling chat and messaging conversations simultaneously). Typically these agents will have two separate logins for chat and messaging.

  • Blended agents within a single shift - Agents handling both live chat and messaging conversations simultaneously within a single shift, with a single login.

The following document describes how the enhanced workspace will affect each of these user types.

Dedicated agents

Brands with dedicated agents have two separate groups of agents: one group only for live chat and one group only for messaging. These agents are sometimes referred to as ‘pure messaging agents’ or ‘pure live chat agents’.

Dedicated messaging agents:

Messaging agents that have the enhanced workspace enabled in permissions will only see this workspace. The visitors tab will be available and will display: web visitors, web history and all agents - based on the existing permission set for the agent.

For more information see the messaging agents user guide.

Dedicated live chat agents

The new experience for these agents will be the same as live chat agents. There will be no change to the current workspace.

The new experiences will only include:

  1. Updated navigation bar with new icons

  2. New location & icons for the ‘change status’ menu

For more information about the changes for live chat agents refer here.

image alt text

Dedicated agents per shift

For brands that have agents handling both live chat and messaging conversations - but not at the same time, there are two main setups: agents with two seperate logins (one for chat and one for messaging) or agents with one login and two associated profiles.

Agents with two logins (1 live chat user, 1 messaging user)

For agents that have two separate logins:

  • Messaging user: Enable the ‘use the enhanced agent workspace’ permission in the profile of the user. The enhanced workspace will become the default workspace for these agents.

  • Chat user: No changes to permissions are required. Once the user logins in, they will only see the chat workspace with the three relevant chat tabs (web visitors, web history, agents)

Agents with one login for live both chat and messaging

For brands that have agents using the same login for both chat and messaging, the following options exist:

  1. Utilize the enhanced workspace for messaging and the existing workspace for live chat

  2. Continue to use the existing workspace for both chat and messaging and do not upgrade (note: this will be a temporary option, until the end of life for the existing workspace for messaging in early 2020)

Utilizing the enhanced workspace for messaging:

  • Agents will need to have two profiles assigned to them: one for chat and one for messaging. The profile for messaging agents should have the ‘use enhanced workspace’ permission enabled.

  • The enhanced messaging workspace will appear and become the default home page.

  • The visitors module will have only the tabs dedicated to live chat: ‘web visitors’, ‘web history’ and ‘all agents’ (the ‘open connections’, ‘all connections’ and ‘messaging agents’ tabs will disappear from their chat workspace)

  • These agents will have two workspaces and will have to use the appropriate one for the shift they are taking.

Keeping the existing workspace:

Brands can elect to forgo the benefits of the enhanced workspace and enable agents to continue to work on the existing workspace for both chat and messaging. The end of life for messaging conversations on this workspace will occur in early 2020, at which point the switch to the enhanced workspace for messaging should take place.

Blended agents within the same shift

Some brands elect to have agents taking both live chat and messaging concurrently.

Agents that work in this mode will NOT be able to utilize the enhanced agent workspace.

To use the enhanced workspace you must create a different login for these agents and follow the instructions as above.

To continue working in a blended manner, maintain agents on the existing workspace and take no action in their permissions. (note: this will be a temporary option, until the end of life for the existing workspace for messaging in early 2020)

The experience for these agents will be the following:

  • New navigation bar

  • New location for the ‘status’ menu

  • Same workspace and tabs

image alt text